MSC 2016

Mizoram Science Congress 2016

The biggest ever Science Conference in the State, ‘Mizoram Science Congress 2016’ under the theme ‘Science & Technology for shaping the future of Mizoram’ was successfully organized by Mizoram Science, Technology and Innovation Council (MISTIC), Directorate of Science & Technology in association with different science NGOs in Mizoram such as Mizoram Science Society (MSS), Mizo Academy of Sciences (MAS), Geological Society of Mizoram (GSM), Science Teachers’ Association of Mizoram (STAM), Mizoram Mathematics Society (MMS), and Biodiversity and Nature Conservation Network (BIOCONE) during 13th & 14th October, 2016 at Mizoram University Campus, Tanhril, Aizawl.

Under the Chairmanship of Dr. R.K. Lallianthanga, Chief Scientific Officer, DST Mizoram & Member Secretary MISTIC, and Secretaries - Dr. R. Lalfakzuala, President MAS & Dr. Laldinpuia, General Secretary GSM, Mizoram Science Congress 2016 Organizing Committee was formed with 3 representative members from different Science NGOs. The Organizing Committee established 9 Sub Committee, they are - Finance Committee, Information & Publicity Committee, Technical Committee, Transport & Accommodation Committee, Decoration & Ushering Committee, Refreshment Committee, Proceedings Committee, Exhibition Committee and Children Science Congress Committee. 

Mizoram Science Congress 2016 was inaugurated by Pu Lal Thanhawla, Chief Minister of Mizoram & Chairman, MISTIC on 13th October, 2016 at New Auditorium, Mizoram University. He also inaugurated Science Exhibition; 43 scientific models displayed by 41 participants from High School students, Higher Sec. School students, Graduate students and Indigenous innovators. Five (5) State Government Departments also displayed their projects and activities. 120 Child Scientists participants, also presented their works, and three teams were selected to perform in the National level Children Science Congress.

Five (5) eminent scientists are invited in this Congress. They are: 1) Dr. Saurabh Baruah, Sr. Principal Scientist & Head, Geoscience Div., CSIR- NEIST, Jorhat; 2) Prof. S.K. Bahrik, Professor & Head, Department of Botany, NEHU; 3) Dr. A.K. Sahoo, Director, Botanical Survey of India- Kolkata, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Govt. of India; 4) Prof. Ganashyam Bez, Professor, Department of Chemistry, NEHU; and 5) Prof. Bosanta R. Baruah, Professor, Department of Physics, IIT Guwahati. There are three parallel technical sessions, viz. i) Physical Sciences: Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry & Statistics; ii) Life Sciences: Botany, Zoology, Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Forestry & Microbiology; iii) Earth Sciences & Applied Sciences: Geology, Environmental Science, Medical Sciences Engineering & Technology, Agriculture & allied subjects. Best Oral and Poster Presenter for each broad subjects are awarded.


MSC 2016 inaugurated by the then Chief Minister of Mizoram, Shri Lal Thanhawla
Inaugural function of MSC 2016


Exhibition observation by Chief Minister and other officials
Performance by cultural troupe


Video coverage of the Mizoram Science Congress 2016  May be accessed from here